RSS

CSA Week #7

24 Jul

csa week 7In this week’s box:

  • Beets
  • Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Cucumbers (normal and pickling)
  • Green Beans
  • Yellow wax beans
  • Herbs – sage, thyme, parsley
  • Raspberries
  • Sugar Snap Peas
  • Sweet Corn
  • Swiss Chard
  • Summer squash

Last night I spent a few hours getting things cleaned and cooked for the week. Here’s what I did:

  • Beets – roasted at 350F for 1 hour; peeled and sliced. How will I use them? Well, that is still TBD. I think I am going to use them in a beet and cabbage slaw like this one.
  • Cabbage – sitting in the crisper until I make some slaw for our trip this weekend.
  • Broccoli – sauteed and added to an egg bake.
  • Cucumbers – 2 are sliced and ready to eat; the other two are hanging out in the crisper.
  • Pickling cucumbers – sitting in the crisper until I decide to pickle them. I think I’ll make some garlic dill pickles, but I’m not positive. I have so many other herbs that I might try to use some of those instead.
  • Green Beans – these are in the crisper until I get a chance to make 3 bean salad again (for this weekend). I made some last weekend and it turned out awesome. I’ll post the recipe soon!
  • Yellow wax beans – ditto to the GBs
  • Herbs (sage, thyme, parsley)
    • Sage and Parsley joined their counterparts from last week in the basement where they are drying
    • The thyme is still in a sealed container in the refrigerator with the thyme from last week (which is still surprisingly fresh). Who would have thought I’d ever have so much thyme, ahahaha…ok enough with the lame jokes.
  • Raspberries – 1/2 were eaten before they made it to their current home in the refrigerator. The farm told me I was supposed to eat them all in 24 hours, so I am just trying to be a good girl 🙂
  • Sugar Snap Peas – cleaned and put in the refrigerator to be snacked on all week long.
  • Sweet Corn – chucked, washed, and roasted in foil. I did this in the oven at 350F x 30 minutes.
  • Swiss Chard – TBD; sitting in the refrigerator with a bag loosely place around the leaves at the moment. I think I am going to make this Swiss Chard and Sweet Potato Gratin
  • Summer squash – sauteed with the broccoli and English peas from last week. Added to a delicious egg bake.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2013 in Nutrition

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment