RSS

Tofu Cheesecake

13 Jun

It has been a few years since I last made this recipe, so I do not have a picture.  I first made this cheesecake when I was living in Green Bay. I was hesitant to tell my roommates (and Jason) that is was actually made from tofu and not cream cheese…so I didn’t. Well, at least not until AFTER they told me what they thought. They all said how much they liked it and the cake disappeared just as fast (if not faster) than a regular cheesecake. If you are a tofu novice, I highly recommend this recipe!

Ingredients

Crust

  1. 1 ½ cup granola
  2. 1/3 cup melted butter

Filling

  1. 2 eggs
  2. ¾ cup of honey
  3. 1 tbsp almond extract
  4. 1 ripe banana*
  5. ¼ cup soy milk
  6. 1/3 cup sifted whole wheat flour
  7. 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  8. 1 cup of crumbled, firm tofu 

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350F
  2. Spread granola evenly in a square 8” cake pan and drizzle melted butter over it
  3. In a blender, combine eggs, honey, almond extract, banana and milk; blend on medium speed.
  4. While still blended, add flour, yeast and tofu.
  5. Once smooth, pour over granola.
  6. Bake for 1 hour and allow to cool completely before serving.

*I did not use this when I did it and it worked fine.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2010 in Desserts, Vegetarian

 

Leave a Reply

 
