RSS

Cranberry Sauce

20 Nov

Two years ago I began cooking for Thanksgiving with my family. We usually would have the traditional gel-cranberry sauce and as a kid, I loved it! However, now that I am older and have more of an appreciation for food, I did not think cranberry sauce was really meant to come from a can, so I decided to make my own. This is the first recipe I ever made and it is still the recipe I always use. The orange juice adds a great touch. Absolutely delicious!

Ingredients
-1 12-oz package of fresh cranberries
-1 cup orange juice
-1/2 cup water
-1 1/2 cups sugar (more if needed for taste)

Directions

  1. Place cranberries in a bowl of clean water. Pick through, discarding stems and rotten berries.
  2. Drain berries and place them in a medium sauce pan with the water, orange juice, and sugar.
  3. Bring to a boil. reduce heat so still boiling, but not rapidly and cook for 5 minutes. The berries will pop, so don’t get scared! Be sure to watch them, or it WILL boil over.
  4. Taste periodically to see if sugar is needed.
  5. Continue to cook until the berries are popped to your liking. The sauce will thicken as it cools.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2008 in Favorites, Fruit

 

2 responses to “Cranberry Sauce

  1. Montel

    February 17, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    This is a good, natural recipe. It doesn’t require much prepping time and uses raw ingredients that have definitely not been processed. This makes for an added attraction for one’s Thanksgiving meal.

     
    • lynnstiff

      February 17, 2010 at 10:21 pm

      Thank you! I am glad you like the recipe. It is my favorite – I make it year round with frozen cranberries too! It is delicious on plain yogurt or mixed with homemade applesauce.

       

Leave a Reply

 
